Author Spotlight Interview – Mary Burton King

Mary KingMary Burton King is a retired Navy officer and a former Naval Criminal Investigative Service (NCIS) Special Agent who possesses over twenty years of law enforcement experience. Ms. King holds a Master’s degree in Forensic Science from George Washington University (1986), and two undergraduate degrees from the University of Mississippi (1982).

She is the author of her memoir, ‘No Pot, No Window’, as well as the detective murder mysteries, ‘Fool Me Once and Fool Me Once, Final Resolution’. Her latest novel, a thriller entitled ‘Beatrice Belladonna’s Black Magic Web’, was released in March 2014.

King resides in Pataskala, Ohio, and is currently writing her second thriller novel, ‘The Dark Entity’. She anticipates publication early 2015.

************************************

Interview:

What or who inspired you to become a writer? Becoming a writer was a personal challenge to myself. My first published novel was my memoir, ‘No Pot, No Window’. I was born dirt poor and remained so until I enlisted in the military at the age of 17. ‘No Pot, No Window’ is an old southern expression referring to a person or persons who live in poverty.

When did you begin writing with the intention of becoming published? I began writing with the intention of being published after I completed writing my memoir, ‘No Pot, No Window’.

Did your environment or upbringing play a major role in your writing and did you use it to your advantage? My environment and upbringing played a major role and influenced the writing of my first novel, my non-fiction memoir, however those two factors played little or no part in the fiction novels I have subsequently written. I have to say my education and life experiences in law enforcement influenced my current novels; crime scene investigator, detective, NCIS Special Agent.

Do you come up with your title before or after you write the manuscript? I generally come up with the title of my novels before or during the early stages of writing the manuscript and occasionally will alter it slightly.

Please introduce your genre and why you prefer to write in that genre? My genre is fiction, crime, mystery, thriller, horror. I prefer to write in this genre because this is what I know. I possess a Master’s degree in Forensic Science from George Washington University and have over twenty years’ experience in the law enforcement field.

What has been your most rewarding experience with your writing process? My most rewarding experience as an author is always typing the words “The End” on my manuscript and submitting it for publication.

Have you had a negative experience in your writing career? If so please explain how it could have been avoided? The only negative experience(s) I have endured during my writing profession thus far is learning the ‘dos’ and ‘don’ts’ regarding writing a manuscript and subsequently publishing a novel that readers want to buy. My formal education was not related to writing, therefore I taught myself online. Almost everybody thinks they can successfully write and publish a novel, and they most likely can. But if it isn’t a very good novel with a captivating plot, believable characters, well written and edited, with an eye catching cover, few people are going to purchase it to read. I have been writing for over five and a half years and have learned a lot. As far as avoiding the mistakes I made when I first started writing, other than going back to college and taking writing classes, there was no avoidance. I learned how to write through the school of hard knocks and by comparing my work to authors who were successful. I soon realized the mistakes I was making and corrected them.

What has been your most rewarding experience in your publishing journey? My most rewarding experience in my publishing journey was writing and publishing my latest novel, ‘Beatrice Belladonna’s Black Magic Web’. I knew this novel was going to be my best novel (and hopefully a bestseller) and that I had evolved into a true author.

Have you had a negative experience in your publishing journey? If so please explain how it could have been avoided? I guess my most negative experience I have had during my time as an author is being looked down on (bookstores refusing to let me host a book signing) because I was self-published. This event happened shortly after I published my first novel and thankfully Indie authors are shown more respect today. I don’t think there was any way I could have avoided that experience, it was simply the way of the times.

What one positive piece of advice would you give to other authors? One positive piece of advice I would give to other authors is always believe in yourself and your ability to succeed.

Who is your favorite author? My favorite author has always been James Patterson, particularly his Alex Cross novels. They are captivating.

Is there anything else that you would like to share with us? I am currently writing the follow up novel to ‘Beatrice Belladonna’s Black Magic Web’, titled The Dark Entity’ and anticipate publication early next year. Counting my memoir, I have four published novels.

**************************

 Beatrice Belladonna's Black Magic Web by Mary Burton King

Beatrice Belladonna’s Black Magic Web – by Mary Burton King

Meet sixty-one-year-old vodou priestess, convicted black widow serial killer and cop killer, Beatrice Belladonna. She is a death row inmate housed at The Federal Medical Center, Carswell, Texas, and is five months shy of her scheduled execution date. Seeking notoriety after death, Beatrice accepts A&E Network’s request for a televised interview. During this six-hour interview, she reveals her life story which includes being sexually abused as a child by her stepfather and abandoned at the age of sixteen by her mother. Consequently, it is no surprise that Beatrice evolved into a sociopathic black widow serial killer at a very young age, eighteen. On camera, she coldly confesses to murdering all of her subsequent lovers for profi t and states that after their deaths, she felt absolutely no remorse, only sheer elation. Naturally, being a vodou priestess has its advantages when it comes to cold-blooded murder. Find out how Beatrice used her vodou black magic powers to kill her lovers and how she managed to elude arrest by the police for over thirty years! Beatrice Belladonna’s bizarre and macabre life story is truly remarkable and one that will not soon be forgotten.

Genre: Fiction, Literary, Mystery Crime Thriller

*************************

Book Review for Beatrice Belladonna’s Black Magic Web – by Mary Burton King

I set the bar high when reading this book because the Author Mary Burton King is a former Naval Criminal Investigative Service (NCIS) Special Agent with over twenty years of law enforcement experience.

‘Beatrice Belladonna’s Black Magic Web’ is spell binding. Never in my wildest dreams would I have ever thought that I would care to know anything about a Haitian Vodou (old term voodoo) Priestess. Nor did I know that I could become interested in Vodou Priestess’ herbs (grown all around the world), magic potions, blessings and curses.

Believe me when I say that no matter how you feel about this subject or this Vodou Priestess you will come to admire her level of intelligence (just like the black widow spider). You will begin to see the world from her perspective and no matter what her crimes you will be forced to think about human dignity.

Personally I can’t wait for the sequel to be released.

Cold Coffee Press Endorses ‘Beatrice Belladonna’s Black Magic Web’ – by Mary Burton King.
Review Date: July 31, 204 http://www.coldcoffeepress.com

*************************

Book Excerpt
Amazon Customer Reviews
Amazon Print Purchase Link
Amazon Kindle Purchase Link
Barnes and Noble Print Purchase Link
Nook Purchase Link

Author Mary Burton King Website Links:
http://www.mbkingmysteries.com
http://www.maryburtonkingauthor.com

Cold Coffee Café Author Mary Burton King
Cold Coffee Press Author Mary Burton King

Leave a Reply

